Statement of Nondiscrimination
The Southwest Regional Water is a recipient of Federal financial assistance from the USDA Rural Development, and is subject to the provisions of the Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, Veteran's Re-Adjustedment Act of 1974, as amended the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, as amended, Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, and the rules and regulations of the U.S. Department of Agriculture which provide that no person in the United States on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability shall be excluded from participation in, admission or access to, denied the benefits of, or otherwise be subjected to discrimination under any of this organization's programs, employment, or  activities.

in accordance with Federal Law and US Department of Agriculture policy, this institution Southwest Regional Water District is prohibited from discrimination on the basis or race, color, national origin, age, disability, and where applicable, sex, marital status, family status, parental status, religion, sexual orientation, genetic information, political beliefs, reprisal, or because all or part of an individual's income is derived from any public assistance programs. 

Any individual, or specific class of individuals, who feel that this organization has subjected them to discrimination  may obtain further information about the statutes and regulations listed above and/or file a written complaint of discrimination, write USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, 1400 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, D.C. 20250-9410 or call (800) 795-3272 (voice), or (202) 720-6832 (TDD).

Southwest Regional Water District is an equal opportunity provider and employer.

Board of Directors

SOUTHWEST REGIONAL WATER DISTRICT provides safe treated public drinking water to rural residents and communities in southwest Iowa.  The District is currently comprised of all, or portions of Page, Mills, Montgomery, Fremont, and Taylor Counties in Iowa and Nodaway and Atchinson Counties in Missouri.  At the end of 2018 there were approximately 924 miles of distribution system pipeline serving 1990 active service accounts and a population of about 6,800.  We provide water service to the franchised communities of Blanchard, Hepburn, Imogene, Northboro, and Yorktown.  We also sell bulk water to the communities of Coin, College Springs, Elmo, Mo., New Market, Shambaugh, Braddyville, and Westboro, Mo.  

​The Southwest RW District has two independent water resources.  The primary water source is the groundwater supply from the Dakota Sandstone Aquifer.  This is a series of wells drilled and in operation in central Montgomery county.  This groundwater supply provides SWRWD with a capacity of 1,600 GPM or 1.7 MGD.
SWRWD has a water purchase contract with the City of Clarinda.  This is a surface water supply from the West Nodaway River.  This alternate surface water supply provides a capacity of 770 GPM or 1 MGD.

SWRWD has 4 elevated water towers in the 5 County regional area.  These 4 pressure zones provide a total storage of 1.35 million gallons.  Future plans include the construction of a new water tower in north central Page county within the next 5 years.  

The Southwest Regional Water was organized in 1973 under Chapter 504A of the Iowa Code.  This chapter is a nonprofit corporation which is governed by a Board of Directors that is elected by the participating [water users] members of the District.  The District's office and maintenance building is located at 516 South 8th Street, Clarinda, Iowa.

The Southwest Regional District continues to expand and add on new rural water services each year.  There are 7 employees that operate and maintain the network of pipelines, pumping stations, control valves, water towers, and the business accounting system.  The SW District has on-call staffing 24 hours, 7 days a week to provide responsible water service.  The District has local excavation contractors available to work with our operators to handle large repair projects.  Our office management and staff maintain a comprehensive accounting system.  We take pride in the integrity of our employees and their dedication to serving our customers.
       SERVICES           FAQ            CONTACT US
Vice President
Director-at large
Brian Herzberg
Lee Brooke
Steve Carlson
Kim Gotschall
John Whipple
Scott Jacobs
Brian Brockman​